Matthew Meyerson, MD, PhD

Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, Harvard Medical School, Broad Institute

Matthew Meyerson is a leader in the field of cancer genomics with a focus on lung cancer. He serves as Professor of Pathology at Dana-Farber Cancer Institute and Harvard Medical School, and a Senior Associate Member of the Broad Institute.

Together with Drs. Bill Sellers, Bruce Johnson and Pasi Janne, the Meyerson group identified somatic mutations in the epidermal growth factor gene, EGFR, in lung adenocarcinomas, that predict response to the EGFR kinase inhibitors, gefitinib and erlotinib. The Meyerson group and collaborators have also discovered other activated kinase genes in cancer, including JAK2 in polycythemia vera, FGFR2 in endometrial cancer, ALK in neuroblastoma, and DDR2 and FGFR1 in squamous cell lung cancer.

The laboratory has pioneered technical and computational approaches for cancer genome research, including methods for copy number determination with single nucleotide polymorphism (SNP) arrays, leading to identification of oncogenes including NKX2-1, SOX2, and MCL1. In addition, the Meyerson group performed the first next-generation sequencing analysis of cancer DNA and developed the computational subtraction approach to discovery of novel disease-causing microbes.

Dr. Meyerson plays a leading role in “The Cancer Genome Atlas” (TCGA), as principal investigator of the Genome Characterization Center at the Broad Institute, focused on copy number and structural alterations. He co-chairs the lung cancer working group with Drs. Steve Baylin and Ramaswamy Govindan. Dr. Meyerson and Dr. Bill Hahn direct the Center for Cancer Genome Discovery at Dana-Farber Cancer Institute.

Dr. Meyerson received his M.D. from Harvard Medical School and his Ph.D. from Harvard University. He served as a resident in Clinical Pathology at Massachusetts General Hospital and a post-doctoral fellow at the Whitehead Institute with Dr. Robert Weinberg. Among other prizes, Dr. Meyerson has been awarded the Paul Marks Prize in Cancer Research from Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center and the Team Science Award from the American Association for Cancer Research.